Join CHULS – Membership

With approximately 75 member Law Schools, CHULS is a learned society representing Law Schools across the UK. We provide a collaborative and collegiate forum for Heads of Law Schools to discuss and explore issues relating to the management of legal education and legal research. We work with other learned associations on matters of mutual interest, and represent our members with the legal professions, education regulatory bodies and other sectoral agencies.

Overview of what we do

As a learned society of law, we liaise with external bodies, including the legal professions’ PSRBs.

  • We promote the public profile of Law Schools.
  • We coordinate Law School representation on external bodies.
  • We develop co-operation between institutions across the Higher Education sector within the United Kingdom and internationally.
  • We provide an arena for discussion of issues relating to legal education, legal research and law school leadership.
  • We organise and host professional development events and seminars on topics affecting legal education, legal research and law school leadership.
  • We host an annual residential conference for Heads of Law Schools.

By joining CHULS, you will:

  • Join a friendly and supporting national network of fellows Heads of Law Schools.
  • Be invited to attend our annual residential event.
  • Have access to a mentoring programme.
  • Gain access to a JISCmail discussion forum for Head of Law Schools.
  • Be invited to participate in regular professional development events on current issues within legal education and the management of law schools.

Subscription rates

CHULS has a flat rate subscription rate of £295.00

How to join

Interested in joining? Please complete the CHULS membership application form and return it to

If you have any questions on membership or the work of CHULS, please email or reach out to a member of the Executive.

Below is a list of current member Law Schools:

Arden University
Bangor University
Birmingham City University
Birmingham, University of
Bradford, University of
Bristol, University of
Brunel University London
Cambridge, University of
Cardiff, University of
Chester, University of
City University of London
College of Legal Practice
Coventry University
De Montfort University (DMU)
Dundee, University of
Durham University
Edge Hill University
Edinburgh Napier University
Edinburgh, University of
Essex, University of
Exeter, University of
Hertfordshire, University of
Hull, University of
Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
Keele University
Kent, University of
Lancaster University
Leeds Beckett University
Leicester, University of
Lincoln, University of
Liverpool John Moores University
Liverpool, University of
London, University of
Manchester Metropolitan University
Newcastle University
Northampton, University of
Northumbria University
Nottingham Trent University
Nottingham, University of
Open University
Oxford Brookes University
Oxford, University of
Portsmouth, University of
Queen Mary University of London
Queen’s University Belfast
Reading, University of
Robert Gordon University (RGU)
Roehampton, University of
Royal Holloway University of London
Salford, University of
Sheffield Hallam University (SHU)
Sheffield, University of
Solent University
Southampton, University of
St Mary’s University Twickenham
Staffordshire University
Stirling, University of
Surrey, University of
Sussex, University of
Swansea University
UEA (University of East Anglia)
Ulster University
University College London (UCL)
UWE (University of the West of England)
West London, University of
Westminster London, University of
Worcester, University of
York St John University
York, University of